Comparative Politics

Scholars of Comparative Politics investigate similarities and differences in patterns of politics across the world. They engage in within-country, cross-national, and cross-regional research with a geographic focus outside the United States (although the US may be included as a case in cross-national comparative research). Comparativists use a variety of methods and often possess deep expertise in particular countries or regions. This knowledge is important for the purpose of systematic comparison, theory building, theory testing, and awareness of context specific variables and causal relationships masked by immersion in our own polities and societies. The field of Comparative Politics includes, among others, the study of political institutions and regimes; electoral behavior and procedures; identity, ideology, and culture; public policy; political economy; political violence; social movements and organizations; and protest and revolution.

Comparative Politics Faculty

Rikhil R. Bhavnani

Position title: Associate Professor: Comparative Politics | Political Methodology

Steven Brooke

Position title: Assistant Professor: Comparative Politics

Kathryn Hendley

Position title: Professor: Comparative Politics

Yoshiko M. Herrera

Position title: Professor of Political Science

Nils Ringe

Position title: Professor | Comparative Politics

Marwa Shalaby

Position title: Assistant Professor | Comparative Politics

Nadav Shelef

Position title: Professor and Associate Chair/Director of Graduate Studies. Comparative Politics | International Relations

Scott Straus

Position title: Department Chair | Professor | Comparative Politics

Erica Simmons

Position title: Board of Visitors Associate Professor | Comparative Politics

Zhenhuan (Reed) Lei

Position title: Assistant Professor Political Science and Public Affairs : Comparative Politics | Politics Methodology

Aili Mari Tripp

Position title: Wangari Maathai Professor of Political Science and Gender and Women's Studies | Comparative Politics