Political Methodology

The Political Methodology field at Wisconsin is broadly defined. It includes training in qualitative and quantitative design, empirical theory, statistical methods and formal theory. As a consequence, Wisconsin students are unusually well trained in the entire field and are prepared to both teach and apply methodologies in all empirical fields of the discipline. The study of, and testing in, methods is not isolated from work in substantive fields, and the exam requires students to be able to apply the methodological questions (theory and technique) to the student’s substantive area in an intelligent way.

Political Methodology Faculty

Rikhil R. Bhavnani

Position title: Associate Professor: Comparative Politics | Political Methodology

Email: bhavnani@wisc.edu

Barry Burden

Position title: Lyons Family Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: bcburden@wisc.edu

Lisa Martin

Position title: Professor: International Relations | Political Methodology

Email: llmartin3@wisc.edu

Jon C. W. Pevehouse

Position title: Vilas Distinguished Professor of Political Science: International Relations | Political Methodology

Email: pevehous@polisci.wisc.edu

Eleanor Neff Powell

Position title: Booth Fowler Associate Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: eleanor.powell@wisc.edu

Jonathan Renshon

Position title: Hawkins Associate Professor and Trice Faculty Scholar: International Relations | Political Methodology

Email: renshon@wisc.edu

David L. Weimer

Position title: Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu

Alexander Tahk

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: atahk@wisc.edu

Adeline Lo

Position title: Assistant Professor | Political Methodology

Email: aylo@wisc.edu

Zhenhuan (Reed) Lei

Position title: Assistant Professor Political Science and Public Affairs : Comparative Politics | Politics Methodology

Email: zhenhuan.lei@wisc.edu