Political Methodology

The Political Methodology field at Wisconsin is broadly defined. It includes training in qualitative and quantitative design, empirical theory, statistical methods and formal theory. As a consequence, Wisconsin students are unusually well trained in the entire field and are prepared to both teach and apply methodologies in all empirical fields of the discipline. The study of, and testing in, methods is not isolated from work in substantive fields, and the exam requires students to be able to apply the methodological questions (theory and technique) to the student’s substantive area in an intelligent way.

Political Methodology Faculty

Rikhil R. Bhavnani

Associate Professor: Comparative Politics | Political Methodology

bhavnani@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5638

312 North Hall

Barry Burden

Lyons Family Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

bcburden@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6351

Office Hours: Wednesday 9:30-11am (spring 2020)
101A/B North Hall

Lisa Martin

Professor: International Relations | Political Methodology

llmartin3@wisc.edu

(608) 263-2035

417 North Hall

Jon C. W. Pevehouse

Vilas Distinguished Professor of Political Science: International Relations | Political Methodology

pevehous@polisci.wisc.edu

(608) 262-4839

313 North Hall
Office Hours: By appointment

Eleanor Neff Powell

Booth Fowler Associate Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

eleanor.powell@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5798

216 North Hall

Jonathan Renshon

Hawkins Associate Professor and Trice Faculty Scholar: International Relations | Political Methodology

renshon@wisc.edu

(608) 263-2272

406 North Hall

David L. Weimer

Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu

(608) 263-2325

215 North Hall / 201 LaFollette

Alexander Tahk

Associate Professor

atahk@wisc.edu

(608) 263-2297

212 North Hall
Office Hours: By appointment