Political Methodology

The Political Methodology field at Wisconsin is broadly defined. It includes training in qualitative and quantitative design, empirical theory, statistical methods and formal theory. As a consequence, Wisconsin students are unusually well trained in the entire field and are prepared to both teach and apply methodologies in all empirical fields of the discipline. The study of, and testing in, methods is not isolated from work in substantive fields, and the exam requires students to be able to apply the methodological questions (theory and technique) to the student’s substantive area in an intelligent way.

Political Methodology Faculty

Rikhil R. Bhavnani

Position title: Associate Professor: Comparative Politics | Political Methodology

Email: bhavnani@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5638

Address:
312 North Hall

Barry Burden

Position title: Lyons Family Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: bcburden@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-6351

Address:
Office Hours: Wednesday 9:30-11am (spring 2020)
101A/B North Hall

Lisa Martin

Position title: Professor: International Relations | Political Methodology

Email: llmartin3@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2035

Address:
417 North Hall

Jon C. W. Pevehouse

Position title: Vilas Distinguished Professor of Political Science: International Relations | Political Methodology

Email: pevehous@polisci.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-4839

Address:
313 North Hall
Office Hours: By appointment

Eleanor Neff Powell

Position title: Booth Fowler Associate Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: eleanor.powell@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-5798

Address:
216 North Hall

Jonathan Renshon

Position title: Hawkins Associate Professor and Trice Faculty Scholar: International Relations | Political Methodology

Email: renshon@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2272

Address:
406 North Hall

David L. Weimer

Position title: Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2325

Address:
215 North Hall / 201 LaFollette

Alexander Tahk

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: atahk@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2297

Address:
212 North Hall
Office Hours: By appointment