American Politics

The field of American Politics encompasses the study of the structure and dynamics of mass behavior and opinion and of the major governmental and extragovernmental institutions, their interrelationships, their historical evolution and their role in the policy process. Specifically, the field covers the major national government institutions (presidency, Congress, bureaucracy and courts); subnational governments and the federal system; extragovernmental organizations such as parties, interest groups and social movements; the behavior and opinions of elites and masses who operate within these institutions and organizations who may seek (as in the case of elections and voting) to influence them; the impact of institutions, organizations, and actors on public policy; the determinants of public policy; the legal and constitutional context in which politics occurs; and changes in all of these elements and their relations with each other and with society over time.

Resources in the field of American politics include:

Recent Ph.D. graduates have been placed in positions at West Virginia University, Pew Research Center, St. Lawrence University, Princeton University, University of Buffalo, Government Accountabilty Office, Macalaster College, Cal State-San Marcos, Georgetown University, University of Oklahoma, DePaul University, Dickinson College, and University of Minnesota.

American Politics Faculty

David Canon

Position title: Department Chair, Professor | American Politics

Email: dcanon@polisci.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2283

Address:
413 North Hall

Katherine J. Cramer

Position title: Professor and Natalie C. Holton Chair of Letters & Science | American Politics

Email: kathy.cramer@wisc.edu

Address:
223 North Hall

Benjamin Marquez

Position title: Professor | American Politics

Email: bmarquez@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2389

Address:
403 North Hall

Kenneth R. Mayer

Position title: Professor | American Politics

Email: krmayer@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-2286

Address:
201D North Hall

Ryan Owens

Position title: Edwards Professor | American Politics

Email: rjowens@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2279

Address:
214 North Hall

Susan Webb Yackee

Position title: Professor | American Politics

Email: syackee@lafollette.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-6017

Address:
402 North Hall

David L. Weimer

Position title: Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: weimer@lafollette.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2325

Address:
215 North Hall / 201 LaFollette

Howard Schweber

Position title: Professor: American Politics | Political Theory

Email: howard.schweber@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-2293

Address:
322B North Hall

Eleanor Neff Powell

Position title: Booth Fowler Associate Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: eleanor.powell@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-5798

Address:
216 North Hall

Barry Burden

Position title: Lyons Family Professor: American Politics | Political Methodology

Email: bcburden@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-6351

Address:
Office Hours: Wednesday 9:30-11am (spring 2020)
101A/B North Hall

Alexander Tahk

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: atahk@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2297

Address:
212 North Hall
Office Hours: By appointment

Amy Gangl

Position title: Director of Undergraduate Engagement

Email: agangl@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2028

Address:
302 North Hall