Political Theory

Political theory is an integral part of the Department of Political Science at the University of Wisconsin, and our current faculty continues a long tradition of intellectual openness and methodological diversity.  Faculty research and teaching cover a broad historical range and reflect the thematic diversity of political theory.

Students interested in pursuing graduate studies at Wisconsin will find a rigorous and exciting intellectual environment. Through coursework, research, and active participation in our Political Theory Workshop, our students acquire a broad knowledge of the history of political thought, become conversant with the central issues and debates animating the field today, and learn to embrace political theory as a vocation. The program is very selective, admitting only a small number of students each year. Faculty thus mentor only a few graduate students, actively fostering the professional development and scholarly rigor necessary to continue our excellent placement record. Students interested in pursuing a Ph.D. at the University of Wisconsin should consult the resources provided on our Graduate Program.

Political Theory Faculty

Richard Avramenko

Position title: Associate Professor | Political Theory

Email: avramenko@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2292

201E North Hall
Office Hours: Monday, 1:00-3:00 (203 Meikeljohn House)

Daniel Kapust

Position title: Professor | Political Theory

Email: djkapust@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9429

314 North Hall

Keisha Lindsay

Position title: Associate Professor | Political Theory

Email: knlindsay@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-1959

3311 Sterling Hall

Michelle Schwarze

Position title: Jack Miller Assistant Professor | Political Theory

Email: mschwarze@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-2032

222 North Hall

Howard Schweber

Position title: Professor: American Politics | Political Theory

Email: howard.schweber@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-2293

322B North Hall

John Zumbrunnen

Position title: Professor and Director, American Democracy Forum | Political Theory

Email: zumbrunnen@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-1793

322D North Hall