Undergraduate Awards & Recognition

2020 Thesis Awards

Alyson Niehans: 2020 winner of the William Jennings Bryan prize for undergraduate Political Science students for her thesis, Wrecking Nations: The NKVD National Operations in the Soviet Union’s Great Terror of 1937-1938.

Rebecca Hanks: 2020 winner of the second annual African Studies undergraduate student paper award for her thesis, Gender Distribution and Gender Quotas in African Subnational Governance.

Caitlin Attaway: 2020 second place recipient of the African Studies undergraduate student paper award for her thesis, Hassan al-Turabi and His Influence on Sudanese Women Movements Governance.

2020 Scholarship Awards

Emma Alexrod: Alberta A. Taylor Scholarship 

Reagan Beyer:  Steve Brenton Health Policy Scholar Award

Emerson Boettcher: Alberta A. Taylor Scholarship 

Bailey Conradt: Ann Durra Scholarship

Ashley Cornwell: John Corcoran Student Support Fund Scholarship 

Ananda Deacon: Thomas W. Parker Scholarship

Rio DeMello: Thomas L.W. Johnson Scholarship

Maria Ekern: Thomas W. Parker Scholarship 

Erika Esparza: Jane Goddard Scholarship 

Trinity Giese: Thomas W. Parker Scholarship

Alicia Jacobsen: Elizabeth and Troy Barnett Family Scholarship 

Daniel Ledin: Thomas W. Parker Scholarship

Katie Malloy: Thomas W. Parker Scholarship 

Tina Marshalek: Judith Hicks Stiehm Award

Emily Nelsen: Thomas W. Parker Scholarship

Carlos Puga: Stanoch Family Scholarship

Saralee Reed: Thomas W. Parker Scholarship 

Baleigh Remy: Alice V. Almasy Memorial Scholarship 

Abigail Steinberg: Betty Ann Clark (Tracy) Scholarship

Matthew Tyler: Wirths Scholars Award

Gabrielle Vinick: Nega Suri Scholarship

Find more information about Scholarship Awards here

2020 Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Samuel Buisman

Courtney Degen

Laura Downer

Juliet Dupont

Shawn Li

Isabel Marshall

Maura Pallitta

Willem Scheetz-Ziegel

Find more information about the Phi Beta Kappa Alpha Chapter of Wisconsin here

Congratulations to our 2021 Spring Graduates!

 View the Department of Political Science’s Spring Commencement site: