Scholarship Opportunities

Inctive Scholarships

Applications for the 24-25 academic year closed on March 1, 2024. Next year’s applications will open in February 2025.

Students can apply for the Stanoch Family scholarship, the Judith Hicks Stiehm award, the Steve Brenton Health policy award, the Belzer Award, the Thomas L.W. Johnson scholarship and the Roberta Hornig Draper award by completing only 1 application, the Political Science Scholarship application.

In order to be eligible for a scholarship, students must have at least one semester remaining after the semester in which they apply.


Belzer Award: provides support to undergraduate students in the Department of Political Science. Preference shall be given to students with financial need and outstanding academic merit.

Judith Hicks Stiehm Award  is to provide support to an undergraduate studying political science (not necessarily a major), to be used for tuition or to provide funding for an opportunity that will enhance learning (e.g., internship, travel, or research); preference to Wisconsin resident; award based on significant financial need; awardee must have at least a C+ average. The application must include evidence of financial need. Including your financial aid award statement is helpful, but only an explanation of financial need is necessary.  If you wish to use the award for funding research or some other opportunity, you must provide a brief (no more than one page) description of your project/opportunity with your application. If you are working with a faculty sponsor or university program, please include that information as well.

Roberta Hornig Draper provides a scholarship for an out-of-state Political Science major. This application is looking for the qualified student who writes the most compelling letter of application. The application will ask why you chose the University of Wisconsin-Madison and how the Draper Scholarship will help you achieve your academic and professional goals.

Stanoch Family Scholarship is established by UW political science alumnus John Stanoch. The scholarship will support a student with financial need, preferably from Minnesota.

Steve Brenton Health Policy Scholar Award provides support to an undergraduate student majoring in Political Science in honor of alumnus Stephen Brenton (BA 76). Eligible candidates must be a declared Wisconsin resident, Political Science major with sophomore or higher status, with at least a 3.0 GPA. Preference will be given to students interested in health policy. Applicants will be encouraged in their application letter to discuss any coursework, internships, employment, or research they have done related to health care policy. Applicants will also write a short essay (1000-3000 words) responding to a question/topic on a health care policy issue.

Thomas L.W. Johnson scholarship is in the memory of Thomas L.W. Johnson. This scholarship is need based and is for an out-of-state, political science major. Thomas L.W. Johnson served as Department Commander of the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, Grand Army of the Republic. This organization was committed to remembering and honoring Union and all U.S. veterans; preserving and studying our country’s history; patriotism and patriotic education.


If you have any questions about Political Science-specific scholarships, please contact Rachel Margolies at

Information about College of Letters & Science Scholarships is available at: For questions about the application and award process, please email or call 608-262-4852.

Student financial aid packages can be impacted by scholarship awards. Students are recommended to contact the financial aid office to learn about potential impact on current aid packages at 608-262-3060.